September 19, 2014

All Access Press Club (Subscribers)

Online all-access is free to print subscribers. Username is your account number, 7-digit number before the expiration date on your mailing label. Password is your zip code.


Teams present fall sports awards
Written by Bob Hyle   
Tuesday, November 13, 2012 7:43 PM

Athletes from the fall sports at Harrison High School recently were honored by the school with team awards at programs held last week and this week. Among those earning individual honors were: Natasha David and Johnny Vidal in golf; Andy Kerr, Shane Page, Alex Tidwell, Abby Henke, and Kayla Childs in soccer; Abby May in tennis; Cameron Feldhaus and Jenna Wallin in cross country; and Lindsey Cron and Rebecca Robben in volleyball.

Boys’ soccer
The Wildcats, under the leadership of coach Chris Johnson, had their most successful season in school history, setting a record for wins with 15 and capturing the school’s first-ever league title in the sport.
Kerr was named the team’s defensive most valuable player. He and Page were honored as team captains. Page also was honored for becoming a member of the 20-goal club. Page set a school record with his 24 goals this season.
Goalkeeper Jake Tedesco was honored as a member of the 10-shutout club. The coaches’ award went to Connor McCurley and the Wildcat award was shared by Blake Linville and Brenden Cassidy.

Girls’ soccer
The Ladycats, under coach Troy Kinnett also had a successful season, finishing with a record of 10-6-1. Childs, a freshman, who scored 22 goals, was named most valuable offensive player. Tidwell and Henke shared the defensive MVP award.
Kara Vennemeier was given the assist award for leading the team with nine assists this season. Goalkeeper Brittany Bley was named most improved player and Saranda Posey was given the award for being the best teammate.

Boys’ cross country
Feldhaus capped his fourth season as a member of the Wildcats’ cross country team by earning the most valuable runner award for coach Jon Motsinger’s team.
Other Wildcats honored included: Sean Root, the coaches’ award; Rob Seal, best teammate; Tyler Napier and David Schwering shared the toughest teammate award; Jake Linder, most improved; and Kevin Schwering, most obvious freshman.

Girls’ cross country
Wallin made quite an impression in her freshman year as a runner for the Ladycats and Motsinger presented her the most valuable runner award.
Other awards went to: Rachel McIntyre, coaches’ award; Rebecca Dorsch, most obvious freshman; Lindsey Potzick and Cassidy Gill shared the best teammate award; Savannah Rechel, toughest competitor; and Lizzie Salmons, most improved.

Girls’ tennis
Tennis coach Andy Zureick handed out just two awards for his team this season. Junior Abby May was named most valuable player for the varsity team. Freshman Brooke Retherford was named most valuable player for the junior varsity team.

Boys’ golf
Senior Johnny Vidal was unable to duplicate his appearance in the state tournament this season, but he still had an outstanding season, capped by the most valuable player award for coach Trevor Ward’s varsity team. Vidal also was named player of the year in the Southwest Ohio Conference and honorable mention all-city.
The coaches’ award was presented to Scott Siener and the most improved golfer award went to Kyle Kinsel.

Girls’ golf
Junior Natasha Davis led the Ladycats golf team in scoring this season and earned most valuable player honors for coach Bryan Carr’s squad.
Other honors went to Haley Wright, most improved; Ashley Corlett, coaches’ award; and Taylor Gwinner and Liliana Scarlato shared the rookie award.

Coach Brittany Mormon did not name a most valuable player for the Ladycats volleyball team. Instead, awards were given for the team’s best offensive performer and best defensive performer.
Lindsey Cron won the offensive award and Rebecca Robben won the defensive award.
The coaches’ award went to Lauren Cron and the Wildcat award went to Morgan Brown.

(The Harrison Wildcats football team was scheduled to hold its awards program on Wednesday, Nov. 14. Winners of awards from football, including the Sports Corner Award, will be announced in the Wednesday, Nov. 21 issue of The Harrison Press).